2014 Week 5 NFL Recap

With the exception of two games, week 5 of the 2014 NFL season has concluded, and two big things stick out at me when looking at how things played out:

1. There was a good amount of comebacks and entertaining finishes.

2. It was a fantastic week in the prediction world. I have started 12-1. Ths boosts my season record to 47-27 (63.51%) and significantly lifts me up in the pick’em standings.

I am very satisfied with how things played out, so let’s point some things out. Here are some factors that stood out in week 5:

  • The Cowboys are 4-1 and have reason to be happy. However, I’m not buying them as true playoff contenders quite yet. I need one more win against a solid team.
  • The Lions’ inconsistency continues! Their loss to the Bills marks my only incorrect pick so far in week 5.
  • The Saints have a lot of work to do, particularly on the defensive side of the ball. But their overtime win over the Buccaneers today might have saved their season.
  • The Falcons’ road struggles continue, while Eli Manning and the Giants seem to have officially turned things around.
  • Brian Hoyer and the Browns are a comeback machine. After being down 28-3 at halftime, they come back on the road to beat the Titans by a point.
  • Geno Smith and the Jets look awful. Purely. Awful.

Want to win a $10 Amazon gift card.? Follow me on Twitter @jacobs_sports, and click on the following link for more information: https://jacobssportstalk.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/annoucing-jacobs-sports-talk-nfl-twitter-trivia-contest

 

Leave a comment