2014 Week 3 NFL Reactions

With the exception of the Sunday and Monday prime time affairs, week 3 of the 2014 NFL season has come to an end, and it did not disappoint.

Plenty of exciting games were on the table, and on top of that, it was a good week in the prediction world for most. I am currently at 9-5 on the week and that puts me at 26-20 (56.52%) on the season. Considering that a lot of other analysts did good too, I am not completely satisified with the how the week played out, but as I get a better grasp on the strengths and weaknesses of teams, that percentage will go up.

Right now, however, we must recap week 3. Here are some of my instant reactions:

  • The Buccaneers look awful. Losses to Derek Anderson and the Panthers, Austin Davis and the Rams, and a complete blowout loss to the Falcons have me laughing at how I called them a surprise team in the preseason.
  • Despite the two-point loss to the Ravens, Brian Hoyer and the Browns are playing some good football right now. Keep an eye on this team. Playoffs are not out of the question. (Did I just say that?)
  • Could the Packers not be the elite team they once were? A big loss to the Seahawks, a squeaker win over the Jets, and a loss to the Lions have me a bit worried.
  • Tony Romo and the Cowboys overcame a 21-0 lead to win today. Granted, it was against the Rams, but it’s still pretty impressive.
  • With Drew Stanton under center, the Cardinals beat the 49ers today. I’m still having trouble letting that sink in. Now the question: Is Arizona that good or are the 49ers showing some weakness?
  • Both the Broncos and Seahawks are still Super Bowl contending teams. What a great game these two teams put on today. The Denver offense and the Seattle defense both just play at an incredible level.

Want to win a $10 Amazon gift card.? Follow me on Twitter @jacobs_sports, and click on the following link for more information: https://jacobssportstalk.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/annoucing-jacobs-sports-talk-nfl-twitter-trivia-contest

Leave a comment